andres' life

Living the Dream

It’s all about the Benjamins, yo.

Well I am now in the midst of placing gear orders for my tour, contacting people and getting psyched for a mege bike tour. Then it happened….

You know, that nagging feeling you get when you know you are ignoring something that you know is important because you know you are being selfish.

You see, I have been very lucky and fortunate throughout my life. Not only do I have stupid dumb luck that has alllowed me to get through many difficult and dangerous situation. I have also been blessed my some pie-in-the-sky diety who has for some strsnge reason decided I should be allowed to live a life of relative luxury and be presented with many wonderful opportunities. The latest of which is my Baxter award.

Yet the more I think about my life and the amazing things I get to do, the more I realize that the past few years of adventuring and fun have been for the most part very selfish. True, I do take great joy in sharing the places and experiences that hold a special place in my heart with others. I love watching someone finally make it up that toprope I set up and come down beaming with joy. I love knowing that deep down inside I have maybe inspired someone out there to live life a little more fully. I really do.

But for the most part, my personal joy has often come before the general well being of everyone around me. This is a big part of why I work where I do. I get to share my love of nature with others and try to make a difference in this world. I get to share the natural beauty of this amazing world with my students.

But as soon as I get off, it’s back to my selfish outdoor pursuits, beer and Scrubs marathons….

So to make a long story short I have decided to use this amazing opportunity presented to me for some good use.

I am in the middle of trying to figure out how to use this bike tour as a way to raise money for charity.  It seems like a great way to feel good about feeling good all alone on a bike.

The problem is that I can’t quite figure out how to get the ball rolling seeing as how I have never done this before. Time to figure out who wants money, who will give me money and why I’m doing this in the first place.

Is this me being a good wholesome person or just a bad case of Catholic guilt? Who knows…..

cheers,

andres.

p.s. Seriously though, I do want to do some good in this world and need help getting the ball rolling. Anyone got experience in this?

2 comments on “It’s all about the Benjamins, yo.

  1. ayngelina
    March 29, 2011

    What about the program you work with that gives inner city kids an opportunity to discover the outdoors? Seems like a perfect fit.

  2. Mom
    March 29, 2011

    No guilt – just knowing how good it feels to give/help is the motivation.
    Ideas:
    1. opportunities for children who could not otherwise attend your institute
    2. Homes for Habitat
    3. food banks
    4. money to organize a bike ride in one of the surrounding farming communities

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2011 by in Biking and tagged , , , , .

Subscribe here to be notified of new posts vie email.

Join 489 other followers

Tam bikes in Mill Valley, CA

Are you a biker in the Bay Area? If so, check these guys out. Great shop in Mill Valley, CA!

