andres' life

Living the Dream

Wanna show me your support?

Well the time has come to make a difficult decision regarding to what greater purpose my bike tour will serve. After much thought, I have decided I will be riding this summer to raise money for WildLink.

For those of you who live and work in the same community as me, you know what sort of program this is and why they need all the money they can get. For those of you outside my professional/home community, here’s the skinny on WildLink.

“As an innovative partnership of Yosemite and Sequoia-Kings Canyon National Parks, NatureBridge’s Yosemite Institute, Sequoia Natural History Association and the National Forests of the Sierra Nevada, WildLink transforms underserved youth through a series of wilderness and community-based outdoor programs offered at no charge. WildLink inspires youth to become long-term environmental stewards with strong connections to the natural world in both the wilderness and their home communities.

Through WildLink, culturally diverse high school students from across California engage in wilderness and public lands, empowering them to improve their own lives and their communities, through a series of experiences. Since 2000, WildLink has opened the wilderness of the Sierra Nevada to the populations living at its doorstep and demonstrated the relevance and benefits of the outdoors and public lands for all Americans. Through presentations, service and stewardship projects, participants reach out to their peers and their communities helping to ensure California’s diverse residents are informed, invested and committed to the enduring resource of Wilderness.

Our Mission

WildLink gives underserved teens a series of wilderness- and home-based experiences that empower them to better their own lives and their communities; and to ensure that diverse California residents are informed, invested and committed to the enduring resource of Wilderness.”

Taken from the WildLink website

I have been fortunate enough to lead expedition for WildLink in the past (with one coming up next week too!) and have seen firsthand the transformative power of the natural world in action. It is for this reason that I am choosing to raise money for this organization that is dedicated to changing the lives of students who normally never get this sort of experience.

But I can’t do it alone, and that’s where YOU come into play!

What I am hoping to do is raise money through my bike ride by asking people to pledge a certain amount of money per mile I ride.

Here’s how it works:

-My total bike ride is approximately 2,600 miles.

-I ask people to pledge a certain amount per mile I ride.

-At the end of the trip, I calculate the exact mileage ridden and how much each individuals donor’s pledge comes out to.

-Donors then make a donation to WildLink on behalf of themselves and my bike tour.

For example, say Bob pledges $.05 per mile. After riding 2,600 miles, I figure that Bob’s total pledge equals $130. I ask Bob to make a donation to WildLink in the amount of $130 with a short note explaining why the donation was made and by who.

Sounds easy enough, right? Well here’s where it gets tough.

My goal is to raise at least the amount of money that I received in grant money.

Therefore, my goal for this ride is to raise at least $2,500!

Let me say that again, I plan on raising at least $2,500.

As these next few days go on I will be reaching out to everyone I know to try and get pledges, so be expecting to hear from me soon.

In the meantime, I will continue to prep for my trip. This coming weekend is the Baxter Breakfast where the family of Matthew Baxter and previous Baxter grant recipients come to El Portal for a delicious pancake breakfast, a slide show of last year’s awards and a chance for us recent recipients to meet the Baxter family. I’m excited and honored.

Well that’s all for now!

ciao,

Andres

p.s. Spread the word, especially to your rich friends!

p.s.s. Also, tell everyone you know about my blog and comment and subscribe. It helps me out a ton!

2 comments on “Wanna show me your support?

  1. Mom
    April 25, 2011

    I encourage everyone to help in whatever way you can. Our youth is our future and all this outdoor stuff can only help our kids.

  2. Marya Carr
    April 28, 2011

    I’m sending in my pledge right now! You are amazing Andy!
    I’ll be thinking of you on my cycling adventure. Can’t wait to compare notes.
    -Marya

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2011 by in Biking and tagged , , , .

Subscribe here to be notified of new posts vie email.

Join 489 other followers

Tam bikes in Mill Valley, CA

Are you a biker in the Bay Area? If so, check these guys out. Great shop in Mill Valley, CA!

