andres' life

Living the Dream

Show me the Money!

Well my pledge letters are out so hopefully you are getting one in your inbox soon!

If not, let me know so that I can get you one.

For those who are interested, here is the pledge letter I have sent out. If you are interested in pledging, contact me with your pledge amount.

Thanks!

Dear Potential Donors,

Beginning on June 13th I will begin cycling from Prudhoe Bay, Alaska to Vancouver B.C., a distance of 2,600 miles. Having received a grant thanks to the Matthew Baxter award and NatureBridge, I wish to use this ride to raise money for an organization I am honored to work with –  WildLink.

WildLink’s Mission, as taken from their website, is:

“…(to give) underserved teens a series of wilderness- and home-based experiences that empower them to better their own lives and their communities; and to ensure that diverse California residents are informed, invested and committed to the enduring resource of Wilderness.”

My goal is to raise at least $2,500 on this bike tour.  All the
money raised will be used to  allow students to discover themselves in the Yosemite wilderness this coming school year. Please help me reach that goal with your pledge.

What I am asking people to do is to pledge a certain amount of money per mile I ride.

Here’s how it works:
-My total bike tour is approximanetly 2,600 miles.
-I ask donors to pledge a certain amount of money per mile I ride.
-At the end of the trip, I calculate the exact mileage ridden and how
much each individual donor’s pledge comes out to.
-I then contact donors and have them mail in a check in that amount to WildLink or donate via the WildLink website with a short note explaining the donation.

For example, say Bob pledges $.05 per mile. After riding 2,600 miles, I figure that Bob’s total pledge equals $130. I ask Bob to make a donation to WildLink in the amount of $130 with a short note explaining why the donation was made and by who.

I will be asking donors to send in their pledge donation in late
August upon the completion of my tour. In addition donors can follow my progress on the bike tour through my blog and see a list of donor’s names on my donor’s page.

Please know that every little bit counts and donations of any amount are greatly appreciated. Together each of us giving a little bit can make a huge difference!

Thank you in advance for your support. Please call me if you have any questions or comments about my bike tour or the WildLink program. I can be reached at esparza.ar “at”gmail.com.


It would also be greatly appreciated if you could pass this along to any other people you think might be interested. Help me reach out to others!

Here are links you might need in researching my pledge:
NatureBridge
WildLink
Andres’ Blog

Sincerely,

Andres Esparza
One comment on “Show me the Money!

  1. Pingback: Not-So-Lazy Giveaway «

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2011 by in Biking and tagged , , .

Subscribe here to be notified of new posts vie email.

Join 489 other followers

Tam bikes in Mill Valley, CA

Are you a biker in the Bay Area? If so, check these guys out. Great shop in Mill Valley, CA!

