andres' life

Living the Dream

It’s happening….

Well it is just about that time. I am slowly packing up my life into my storage shed and laying out all the goodies that are coming with me on this grand journey.

As always, the pre lift-off jitters and logistical snafus are starting to show themselves. But alas, it shall pass and in 6 days from today I will be setting foot in Anchorage,AK and not returning back for another 70+ days.

I finally got my bike from Paul and Tam Bikes this weekend and keep eyeing it trying to figure out whether this new machine will me my best friend or foe for the next 70+ days. Regardless, failing serious injury in the next few days, I shall soon embark on my epic 2,600 mile bike ride.

At this point I am feeling very nervous. not so much about failing but more about how I am going to deal with the enormous amount of solo time that I will no doubt be experiencing. Part of me is ready for the challenge of facing myself with no distractions experiencing myself in a totally true and honest way. The other part is afraid of how much i might end up re-examing my life and over-analyzing everything under the sun to ignore the pain of loneliness.

Only time will tell how I cope but one thing is for certain. I have been handed a great opportunity and I shall return from this adventure a changed person.

I would like to thank everyone who made this possible. words can not describe how much this means to me and there is a very special place in my heart for everyone who made this possible.

Me, uber-excited, after receiving my sexy bike!

Much love to all and look forward to my next post about gear and logistical prep for the trip.

ciao,

el Andy

7 comments on “It’s happening….

  1. ayngelina
    June 7, 2011

    As someone who has spent far too much time alone I can only encourage you to write about it. You will overexamine every aspect of your life, have moments where you think you are awesome and then 5 minutes later wonder why you ever exist because your life is pointless.

    It will be a wonderful journey and I am looking forward to reading all about it.

  2. Adrian R Esparza
    June 7, 2011

    On your lonley and difficult days, you are going to experience, just remember being peddaled around the subdivision in Houston by your dad, and know in your heart ill be with you every crank of the way. May the bike kahunas watch over you and protect you. love dad

  3. clay fiske
    June 7, 2011

    Nice Surly. Looks like the only thing its missing is less gears. Kidding. Are there any last things you need? We will be having a baby in your absence but will be thinking of you as well. Safe travels my friend. Dig deep in those times of doubt and you will pull through.

  4. Sarah Bly
    June 8, 2011

    Oh, Andy, you’re gonna nail it. I have the utmost confidence that you will encounter exactly what you need to, and grow in all the right places as a result. There is a reason why we do these things… I haven’t exactly put it into words but you know and I know that inexorable pull toward the horizon never stops, and I’m thankful for it.

  5. Juanis
    June 8, 2011

    En buena hora Andres I know you will take advantage of this opportunity not only as an adventure but as a great way to grow spiritually and confront one of the hardest persons YOU. I will call it solitude:

    “only in solitude do we find ourselves; and finding ourselves, we find in ourselves all our brothers in solitude” — Miguel de Unamuno

    So Andres open your ears and heart and listen the simple whispers of life in ur breathing and latidos de tu corazon…..

    Nunca estaras solo sino contigo mismo

    Juanis

  6. Casey Fagre
    June 8, 2011

    Hey Andy,
    Matt and I feel your nerves too, although less so about the lonely factor and more about the failure potential for us. I was surprised to see you got a LHT as when we talked at the Baxter Breakfast that was not the case, I think it will be your friend if my experience counts for anything 🙂 We´ll be thinking of you from across northern latitudes as we launch our tour in ten days and counting…All the best, Casey

  7. Marya
    June 14, 2011

    Go Andy! Rob, Kendra, and I have been beating the hell out of our Long Haul Truckers on the Tibetan Plateau and they are doing great! The machine will stand up to the test! And you will too. I am in awe that you are taking on this journey on your own. You are my hero!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2011 by in Biking and tagged , , .

Subscribe here to be notified of new posts vie email.

Join 489 other followers

Tam bikes in Mill Valley, CA

Are you a biker in the Bay Area? If so, check these guys out. Great shop in Mill Valley, CA!

