andres' life

Living the Dream

Blastoff….

Sorta……

I’m sitting here in my empty shell of a room, all packed up and ready to go, trying to sleep.Tomorrow morning I begin the endless hours of travel that will eventually lead me to the start of my journey. I always get a kick out of the enormous amounts of time and energy we spend to then go exert more energy in strange new lands. I guess that’s just part of the game.

I have, for the most part, said my goodbyes to friends and this beautiful place. Although I’m going to try and not think about Yosemite and the special people here, I know it will be impossible to not wish, at times, that I was back in the glorious Sierra Nevada, my home.

Instead, I am dancing that same old dance where you hug and kiss those near and dear to you and say, “See you soon.” And yes, I will see them soon. But it still hurts a little down inside walking away and taking that last look back at what you are leaving. This is and always will be a part of what we do, but it doesn’t have to be viewed as sad.

Instead, I’m trying more and more to see the meaningful goodbyes as a sign that you, as a person, are connected to these people. That feeling you are getting deep down inside is just your mind realizing these people’s importance in your life. It’s a reminder of your meaningful connections to everyone and should be seen as a celebration of kinship and relations, not sorrow.

True, I’m ONLY leaving for 70 days. So maybe I just need to suck it up and quit being a pansy. But to be honest, I will miss these people when I’m alone this summer.

That’s all for now.

peace, love and pirates to all……

Andres

One comment on “Blastoff….

  1. Jen Metes
    June 12, 2011

    what a great way to sum up goodbyes! having just said some of my own for the season I understand that same feeling. good luck on the incredible adventure ahead of you!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2011 by in Biking and tagged , , , , .

Subscribe here to be notified of new posts vie email.

Join 489 other followers

Tam bikes in Mill Valley, CA

Are you a biker in the Bay Area? If so, check these guys out. Great shop in Mill Valley, CA!

