andres' life

Living the Dream

The itch I can’t scratch…..

Mammoth Lakes to El Portal Bike Tour

I feel like a junkie sneaking off alone as soon as I get a couple days off. I make half-ass calls “trying” to find a partner.  But honestly, all I wanna do is ride alone again. Just my bike, the road and me.

Last Wednesday in the car I was struck with the uncontrollable urge to bike tour from Mammoth Lakes to El Portal where I live. I had been fantasizing about riding this stretch for a while now and now all of a sudden every bit of me NEEDED to do it, NOW!

I decided it would be a 2 day tour with a night spent in Tuolumne Meadows. I figured this weekend would be the last weekend I had available where I could be assured of good weather, so it was a go!

I debated all sorts of shuttling options and finally was saved by a co-worker, Laura B.. Not only did I get a ride to Mammoth Thursday night but I was also fed delicious Thai food and had a comfy futon to crash on before my ride.

Come morning, after a breakie burrito and coffee in Mammoth it was off to the local bike shop to buy a multitool and fix my rubbing fender.

Then I was off!

Headed north on the 395 out of Mammoth I was reminded once again how much I truly love and appreciate the desert but also the entire Sierra Nevada. the east side seems like the place I will eventually end up living, somehow, someway…..

Some amazing places along the way included the June Lake Loop (pure glory!), The Mobil (Best gas station in the world!) Lee Vining Canyon (best suffering anywhere!). Tuolumne Meadows (gem of the Sierra Nevada), and the 14 miles of downhill leading to my door!

I’m too lazy to write anymore so instead you get photos this time, enjoi.

ae.

Always start with coffee. always.

Me. the dork. Getting ready to ride out from Mammoth.

Mammoth and 395 behind me.

Such great sights along the way

I actually felt pretty good once I got here.

Always take the pretty back roads on a bike.

Beginning the June Lake Loop. 25 miles of beauty!

Fall colors on the June Lake Loop and my killer hairdo!

Brook enjoying the fall colors.

Grant Lake on the June Lake Loop

Sometimes vandalism is quite funny.

I really really really love this part of California.

Headed up Lee Vining Canyon

Looking down the huge hill I had to ride up.

How often does this really happen?

i love this place. Especially after cycling all the way up!

When in Rome, right?

Camping in Tuolumne Meadows

Me posing by Lembert Dome in Tuolumne Meadows

i love this place.

Clouds rest, Half dome. Olmstead Point and me.

Still a fair amount of snow on the road....

Me. biking home.

2 comments on “The itch I can’t scratch…..

  1. ayngelina
    October 23, 2011

    If I have learned anything it is that solitude is not a bad thing.

  2. Mom
    October 24, 2011

    Love your pictures, Mijo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2011 by in Biking and tagged , , .

Subscribe here to be notified of new posts vie email.

Join 489 other followers

Tam bikes in Mill Valley, CA

Are you a biker in the Bay Area? If so, check these guys out. Great shop in Mill Valley, CA!

