andres' life

Living the Dream

Get ‘er Done!

Before any big adventure or test of one’s self there are always all sorts of thoughts and feeling that dominate your head space for weeks before the big day. Eventually, the overwhelming awareness and understanding of the task ahead settles in and then “it” begins.

It’s funny how you never know when it’s going to hit you. “It” being that sense of delightful dread that starts in your stomach and moves through your body in alternating waves of self-doubt and uber-confidence.

For me that feeling stems from two issues I am working through:

1. Can I honestly stay motivated and committed for 3.5 months through 4,300+ miles of cycling? If I can’t, can I quit?

2.  Why am I doing this in the first place? I have definitely cycled enough to know I love touring and want to see as much as possible. But I also need to be aware enough of myself to know when I have honestly stopped having fun and am just cycling for other, potentially less constructive, reasons.

I had been thinking bout this a bit lately but it really hit me the other day when I was standing at Olmstead Point and decided to shoot this photo of the Tenaya Lake area.

Upon uploading and viewing this picture it all made sense.

I know, deep down inside, that I can do this. I can see the road ahead and where it wants to take me before disappearing from sight. I know that it eventually leads somewhere beautiful and wonderful.

However the scary and truly exciting part of all this is that I have no idea what’s around the corner. All I know is that it leads somewhere I want to be.

So cheers to confidently charging ahead into the great unknown towards a glorious and rewarding future.

ae.

2 comments on “Get ‘er Done!

  1. Adrienne
    August 7, 2012

    Awwwww you are asking the big questions for this type of trip! We go through some of the same things – we’re heading into a super barren desert area soon, which will probably test some of those motivation/commitment/WHY AM I DOING THIS type questions. Thank you for the great comments – I can’t wait to hear how your trip goes!

  2. Casey
    September 1, 2012

    Andy, I’ve been catching up on your older posts as I didn’t have much computer time during the summer. You may be interested in the similarity of a photo I posted in a blog entry to the one you took above…although I admire the soulful reflection that you included. My post…not so much.

    Check it out:http://blog.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/casey_matt/4/1342501981/tpod.html

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Subscribe here to be notified of new posts vie email.

Join 489 other followers

Tam bikes in Mill Valley, CA

Are you a biker in the Bay Area? If so, check these guys out. Great shop in Mill Valley, CA!

